The Henna experience: Part 1

Some days ago I ordered natural Henna powder via internet with suitable stencils. If you take a look at the greenish powder you cannot imagine that this powder will help you to create some nice tattoos. The natural henna powder normally creates an orange or brownish color on the skin, if you repeat the treatment, you will have a darker color!

I did not buy “black henna” because actually there is no black henna, the thing which is sold as black henna can have dangerous consequences on your skin and there are chemicals which are included in it!

If somebody on the street offers you a henna tattoo where you can see the result in half an hour, you can be sure, that there is a lot of chemistry in it, because by using natural henna, you have to leave the paste on your skin for 2-12 hours (covered).

The natural form does not have such dangerous consequences and the long time you need for the treatment is the reason that there are not so many people who offer it in the street (or at least I have not seen some, but this could be that I just was not at the right place😉 )

There is also a different mixture which is called Khidab from Jemen and with this you can create black temporary tattoos, but I do not have experience with it yet.

To come back to the natural Henna, I already mixed the paste using water and a little bit of sugar.

At first you put the water on the powder, but be careful, in this case less could be more!

The paste should have a consistency of toothpaste and mustard.

Then you could put in some sugar. This helps that the paste does not run on your skin. I have heard that one could also add citron juice but I have not yet tried that out, if I will try this, I will post the result! I have already made a little point on my skin which is of brown color.

This is just the first part of the henna experience. In my next post I will show the results!

This entry was posted in Berlin City Life, Language & Culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Henna experience: Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Henna experience part 2: Results | Split Seconds of Life

Leave a Reply

