Are sizes getting smaller or am I getting bigger!?

source: moderatgeber.de

As I have always been a passionate shopper (at least in the last 5-6 years)and now I see some changes in fashion, especially regarding pants and jeans. I have neither made any significant gains nor losses in weight, but anyhow it occured that when I shop pants and jeans, the size I have to buy gets bigger and bigger. Some years ago I started with a 36, then I had to take a 38 and in recent times when I was shopping I even had to take a 40 or 42 with a weight that has not changed (maybe 1 kilo or so, but this should not make a difference). Some friends of mine made a similar experience and we found that especially pants of the label Zara and H&M are getting smaller. I do not care so much about it and just take the bigger size but I think that especially teenage girls could feel that they have to loose some weigth if they can’t wear their usual size anymore although they have not made significant gains. Furthermore I suppose that this can lead to eating disorders.
I cannot understand people who are aiming to get a size of 32 (or in hollywood so-called “size zero”). I read in another blog entry that the size zero has the measures of a healthy twelve year old girl. And I agree very much with this blogger that this is not something adorable, but I do not want to attack girls who have this size by nature (as I also know some)!

This entry was posted in Berlin City Life, Current Issues and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Are sizes getting smaller or am I getting bigger!?

  1. Yeim says:

    You are right and some girls pick the smaller size although they will look more fat in it than in a number which would be a bit bigger and more comfortable for them and for our eyes😉

  2. Lauren says:

    Sizes are definitely getting smaller and it can’t be healthy for young girls’ self esteem or body image. It makes me think of the Devil Wears Prada, when Nigel informs Andy that her new coworkers don’t eat.

    “Not since two became the new four, and zero became the new two.”
    “Well, I’m a six.”
    “Which is the new fourteen.”

    • jhnnbrts says:

      ahh I’ve also seen this film… and I had the thought that men can’t like women which are such extremely thin😉

      • Lauren says:

        Aww, I think they can but I think for the sake of everyone’s health and happiness, it would be better if sizes didn’t matter so much (and if they stopped changing!).

        There’s a meme going around that I really like. It says “Stop using the phrase ‘real women’ to refer to curvy girls. Tall, skinny girls aren’t imaginary. All women are real women.” It makes a very good point, I think. Variety is the spice of life, as they say, and beauty has many forms. There is no one size fits all!🙂

        That’s what I tell myself when I go to my favorite store and my size has gone up despite the scale and my measurements remaining steady😀

  3. I totally agree. I thought that this was just an American issue…I’m saddened that it is not (and a little embarrassed by my naivete). I wouldn’t say that thin models = eating disorders in young girls, but more that society in general, by putting so much emphasis on appearance, creates the insecurities that can lead to all kinds of body image issues, both for women and for men. I am striving to accept myself more as I am and spend much less time reading fashion and celebrity news and magazines now, and find that doing so has helped me tremendously.

    It does still frustrate me (immensely!) when I go shopping and have somehow gained two sizes when my clothing at home that I have had for months or years still fits (Seriously. Just ask my husband – the poor man has endured more than one crying spell due to frustration over something that is supposed to be simple – such as jeans shopping.) I think life would be much easier if everything just started going by measurements, rather than numbers that are supposed to represent a “size”. But that would be too easy, no?

    Btw, thanks for stopping by my blog and for the like.🙂

    • jhnnbrts says:

      I think you’re totally right, especially witht the jeans shopping issue (in my wardrobe there are all sizes from 34 to 42 which seems a little bit strange to me :D) and I have also read less magazines about fashion and celebrities instead focusing my own way. Thank you for your nice comment🙂

  4. Lesley says:

    its a bummer but so true!

  5. I hope someday we can all realize that it’s not about size or age, etc.—it’s about HEALTH! I too have noticed a change in pants sizes here in France😦

  6. Crystal says:

    It’s so true, I compared my old t-shirt with the new one I bought of the same brand. The old and the new are in good condition. MY XL IS SMALLER THAN MY MEDIUM SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS😛

  7. JENNI says:

    I am the same weight as I was in 2007… I have gained and lost 30 lbs in between, but I measure the same even. I used to wear a size 13/14 (I’m 6 ft tall so proportionally bigger) I now wear a size 20 or XXL in some stores and a size large or 16 in others. Its really aggravating.

Leave a Reply

