Feeback: Nearly 2 years siliconfree & nearly one month poo-free!!!

Hi all,

after quite a long break I found my way back to my blog again. In this blogpost I want to share with you what came out when I was stopping using silicon in hair products.

It has become like a new trend in cosmetics to offer silicon-free products. As I heard and also mentioned in my initial hair experiment post about the ingredients in regular store shampoos (and also other cosmetical products ) I decided that I wanted to try how it without them.

I started with silicon-free shampoo. Maybe the first of the silicon-free shampoos I tried was Logona colour shampoo hazelnut (no it is not an advertisement for that shampoo and Logona did not pay me for mentioning that here) – but anyhow I was not too satisfied with the result and also when I used Lavaerde and products from “Khadi” in the initial phase there were weeks of hair without shine.  Half a year later the hair started adapting a little bit – if one can call it like that. Then there was a little change in my life – I went to live in Spain for one year until the summer of this year. During this time my hair routine was quite mixed I was siliconfree all the time (with two exceptions in the beginning) but later also decided that I wanted to try other solutions as well. I tried siliconfree shampoos from Yves Rocher which were not bad but there are still ingredients there which are mmhhh lets call it “questionable”. It was said that the cleaning agents of the shampoo can also be used in regular house cleaning agents and some other cleaning agents like sls can also be used in carwash products – oh my gosh. Then came the question to my mind – are we really so dirty that we need such harsh products? I do not think so. I agree that there after a some days of no washing the hair there is something to clean but I do not think that there is a lot of cleaning necessary. One thing which I learned when I was in Spain is – skip washes!! When I arrived I had the routine of washing my hair every second day. When I left Spain after one year I came to the routine of only washing 1-2 times a week – and no it is not smelling. Considering the issue of scalp smelling I read that this also depends on your nutrition – so if you have a healthier nutrition your sebum of the scalp is supposed to smell less.

My newest experiment which I started here in UK is getting rid of regular shampoo completely – for this I have three possibilities to get clean up there.

1. Washing the hair with baking soda and rinsing with apple cider vinegar.

2. Washing the hair with Moroccan Clay (ghassoul, rhassoul, etc. – there is quite a variety of spelling it)

3. Washing the hair with a mix of Indian herbs (the ones I have here are amla, brahmi, bringharaj, reetha / aritha and shikakai)

With all of them I have managed to get to good results however there have also been times where the result was not so satisfying.  But I will go on with that as I am now only one month doing it and to get a better overview on how it is working it is best if I give another feedback in a few months.What has happend in generall since I left the silicon shampoo is that the hair feels thicker and when I succeed in getting good results also shinier. And I have less breakage and split ends than in earlier times (where I used a broad variety of chemical hair products including shampoo, conditioner, leave-in care, serum for split ends)

haare

Here on the foto you can see the result.

I will also do another blogpost considering skincare.

What I still want to mention here is: this is not supposed to make you skip shampoo this is more to give you information about how it has been for people who tried it.

Have you made similar experiences with hair cosmetics or what kind of hair routine do you have?

This entry was posted in Hair Care & Cosmetics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feeback: Nearly 2 years siliconfree & nearly one month poo-free!!!

  1. How were your results with the Moroccan clay versus the other methods of washing you mentioned? I’ve heard that Moroccan clay is a wonder deep conditioning treatment, and I’m curious to try it. My hair is SUPER curly, however, so I’m not sure how well I’d get all of it out of my hair.

    • jhnnbrts says:

      Hi🙂
      sorry for the late answer!

      I quite like morrocan clay although it may be very strange to rinse it…for my hair (I have straight not so thick hair) it is enough to mix the clay with water only…but I think for dry hair and maybe also for curly hair it might be worth a try to put some drops of a vegetable oil in it like olive oil or almond oil🙂

Leave a Reply

